Saturday, 4 December 2010

hot damn.


Brought to my attention, care of Connor. 

Wednesday, 1 December 2010

AP2 Cover Process

You can see the step by step cover process for Vol. 2 of The Anthology Project right here.
Not all of the steps are in proper order as I tend to work quite chaotically, but you get the idea.

Monday, 15 November 2010

Aphrodite Born

I just recently finished another addition to an ongoing personal project tentatively called 'Mythos'. I was trying to portray Aphrodite with a similar amount of terrifying beauty and an air of reverence that a character like Galadriel (LOTR) imposes on all that come before her. I utilized design elements that are meant to mimic uteral shapes that speak of fertility and birth.

AP2 Preview

Thursday, 4 November 2010

The Tomorrow Project & The Smoking Room

I really enjoyed information design class when I was still in school and had the pleasure of tapping into that particular design aesthetic for a recent editorial gig for The Apple Magazine. The article was about a five decade long collaborative cancer study on over 300,000 people across Canada. Using vectors certainly helped with the quick turn around time for this assignment and perhaps something to be explored more.




I also had the opportunity to do an illustration for the University of Alberta Alumni Faculty Magazine. Back in the early 60's, students had their campus library smoking space taken away from them in order to make way for more books. Illustration is displayed sans headline text.




Well that's all for now folks.

Friday, 22 October 2010

Rough all round.

Wednesday, 20 October 2010

AP2 | Cover


Thursday, 7 October 2010

The Anthology Project Vol 2 | Kickstarter

Volume 2 of The Anthology Project is well under way and to facilitate self-publishing a second volume, were announcing the project via Kickstarter.


Thank you so much to those who supported the first volume and those interested in the second.


Monday, 6 September 2010

Sun Wu Kong

Wednesday, 25 August 2010

Melancholy News

Fare thee well Satoshi Kon.

Monday, 23 August 2010

S.W.K WIP

Edit: Well paint me a shade of tomato, I gave him two right feet! HAW!

Thursday, 5 August 2010

THE KING OF ALL COSMOS

My contribution for a Katamari Damacy art show/fundraiser in Portland, hosted by Floating World Comics come September 2nd. Prints of this piece will be for sale...

"The show is a not-for-profit fundraiser, 100% of the proceeds will go to JOIN - a local nonprofit organization that works to "connect the street to a home."  


FUN STUFF!

Friday, 30 July 2010

Oh, how I miss my feet in the dirt!

I've been away from this place whilst caught up in summer shenanigans, hence the quietness. Summer has been really great. My friend Connor took this picture and it reminded me of last weekends exploits. I think it's beautiful. Carry on, carry on.

Saturday, 17 July 2010

turn left here.

Friday, 16 July 2010

hark

Thursday, 15 July 2010

new phone number

My digits have changed for those parties interested. You can now reach me at 438-885-3898.

Wednesday, 14 July 2010

bulb

Tuesday, 13 July 2010

plume

squiggle, tik tik, scratch, splat & wiggle. three times fast.

Thursday, 8 July 2010

sis! boom! bah!

Friday, 25 June 2010

For those of the curious sort.

Old hands fumble (then again, so do the new). My archive (incomplete)

Overthrown baseballs and Parc Laurier

Sunday, 20 June 2010

The Magician | Tarot Card I

Promotional Postcard

Monday, 14 June 2010

Goodbye Megatunes

Sunday, 6 June 2010

blind lemon umbrellas

Thursday, 3 June 2010

Nellie McClung | The Famous 5

A few months back while I was on the road in California, I had the pleasure of receiving this assignment about suffragette personality, Nellie McClung, and her exploits in championing women's rights in Canada. Not the easiest thing to find a variety of pictorial reference about her and her cohorts, but things worked out in the end. Doing the initial work for this job in public spaces was particularly refreshing. My thanks to Redpoint Media and Teresa Johnston for being great to work with.

Tuesday, 1 June 2010

summer bark

Wednesday, 19 May 2010

Tarot Postcards Soonish


rough layout.

Thursday, 13 May 2010

Prints for Sale

You can now purchase archival quality prints for sale at inprnt.com. You can find them here. I'll be making more work available as I go.

Wednesday, 12 May 2010

Tokusatsu Dance Party!

Tuesday, 11 May 2010

TCAF 2010

Thanks to everyone who showed up at The Anthology Project table this past weekend at TCAF. The turn out and response was amazing. Special thanks to those that picked up a copy of the book or purchased prints. The support is much appreciated!

Tuesday, 4 May 2010

Autumn Beauty

For my beloved mom. Happy early Mother's day.

Friday, 30 April 2010

TCAF May 8-9

I'll be at the Toronto Comic Arts Festival next weekend alongside other folks and friends from The Anthology Project. There will be prints of my art for sale if anyone is interested, or just come by and say hello. I'd love to have a chat.

Sunday, 25 April 2010

"Twistin' the night away" (Tokusatsu Dance Party Comp)

This'll be fun. Sam Cooke said so. Dig it.

Saturday, 24 April 2010

DD comp

Tuesday, 20 April 2010

edkwong.com 2.0

I just spent the last night updating my website. After much cursing, aggravation and mindless staring at code, probably with a few kinks to work out as I go. Thank you indexhibit. Check it out here: www.edkwong.com

Monday, 19 April 2010

Aphrodite Ourania

Edit: On second thought I'll leave it open to intepretation.

Sunday, 18 April 2010

ZAAAAAPPP!!

Friday, 16 April 2010

Noodle Doodles

Monday, 12 April 2010

Funky Flora

I spent a little bit of time sketching at Balboa Park in San Diego. The vegetation they have go on down there is pretty stellar. That was the only drawing for myself that I did over my trip and alas, the rest was spent on a job I decided to take on during my travels.

Friday, 9 April 2010

Homeward Bound + IdN online

On my way home soon to hit the ground running a get back on some new and in progress work. Hope to show some new images very soon so please stay tuned!

IdN featured my work for The Ark Project recently with some very kind words. Thanks IdN.

Also, a couple fond food memories from a few weeks back. Man, things are done right in San Francisco.


Friday, 19 March 2010

off to the sunshine state + Anthology Project release reception + Brennan Kelly

I'm happy to say i'll be heading over to California for the next three weeks so updates will be a little sparse until I get back. Hope to get quite a bit of sketching in while i'm there so check back in a while and i'll be certain to have some raw material up.

Also, if you happen to be in Calgary on April 3rd, the official release party for The Anthology Project will be taking place from 7-11pm @ Fashion Central: #205, 100—7th Ave SW Calgary, AB T2P 0W4 Artists behind the book will be in attendance and there will be door prizes, so i'm told.




In the meantime check out my bud Brennan Kelly, whose recent work makes me fuzzy all over. Peep his radness!

I'll still be reachable by email if there are any inquiries or requests. Happy trails.